Central Illinois Community Bank Center Central Illinois Community Blood Center
Return to CICBC Home PageLinksSite Map
Donate BloodSponsor a  Blood DriveNewsUpcoming Blood DrivesAbout UsContact UsJob OpportunitiesVolunteersReference Laboratory
About Us Header  
 
 


 

Mission

The mission of the Central Illinois Community Blood Center is to provide the highest quality blood and related services to meet the needs of the communities we serve.

 

Who We Are

Established in 1971, Central Illinois Community Blood Center (CICBC), a not-for-profit organization, is the provider of life-saving blood for 14 hospitals throughout central Illinois. As a not-for-profit organization, CICBC is governed by a board of directors representing the communities in which it serves.

Central Illinois Community Blood Center is a member of America’s Blood Centers, accredited by AABB (formerly the American Association of Blood Banks) and is licensed by the U.S. Federal Food and Drug Administration.

A division of Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center (MVRBC), Central Illinois Community Blood Center and MVRBC collect over 180,000 units of blood annually and serve a total of 87 hospitals in Illinois, Iowa, Missouri and Wisconsin.


A Perfect Match
In July 2010, CICBC merged operations with Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center (MVRBC), based in Davenport, Iowa. Together, CICBC and MVRBC employ approximately 500 dedicated professionals, serve 85 hospitals in four states and impact a population exceeding 4.1 million residents. Annual collections within the partnership will exceed 180,000 units.

We’re excited about the opportunities our merger will bring and are pleased to let the community know we will continue to serve local hospitals with the same donor recruitment and mobile blood drive staff you’ve always known. Our schedule of upcoming blood drives remains unchanged.

In most of the communities we serve, we’ll continue to operate as Central Illinois Community Blood Center, but we are taking on the MVRBC name in the Metro East region (including all of Madison and St. Clair counties) to leverage the marketing efforts and name recognition MVRBC has begun to establish through its presence in communities on the Missouri side of the river.

Over the years, the professional relationship between our two blood centers has evolved and worked effectively because of the many important values we share. We are confident our alliance will create an organization that is more capable, community-focused, technologically advanced and competitive than we would ever be as two separate organizations.

For more information on our merger with Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center, click here.



Leadership and Other Contacts

Central Illinois Community Blood Center  
Bruce A. Marshall, MD, FCAP
Medical Director
bmarshall@cicbc.org

David Parsons
President, Southern Division
dparsons@cicbc.org

Elizabeth Hopkins, MT (ASCP)
Director, Laboratories and Distribution
ehopkins@cicbc.org

Kendra Fernandez, PHR
Director, Donor Operations
kfernandez@cicbc.org

Tara Matheson
Manager, Donor Relations
tmatheson@cicbc.org

Lindsay Manci
Vice President of Process Improvement
lmanci@cicbc.org
Jessica Becker
Donor Relations Consultant
jbecker@cicbc.org
Alexis Yadron
Donor Relations Consultant
ayadron@cicbc.org
Mindy Melton
Donor Relations Consultant
mmelton@cicbc.org

Anna McFarland
Marketing Coordinator
amcfarland@cicbc.org

 

   
Metro East Area  

Andrea Cole
Manager, Donor Relations
Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center
acole@mvrbc.org

Tony Heap
Development Recruitment Coordinator
Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center
aheap@mvrbc.org
 

 

 

 

 
Executive Leadership  

David R. Green
Chief Executive Officer
Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center

Yasuko Erickson, MD
President, Medical Affairs
Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center